CHRISTMAS TAG 2013

large

The Christmas TAG is something that has been done a lot over the years, by bloggers and vloggers (video bloggers on Youtube). This year’s was kicked off by Georgina over at Makeup – Pixi3, with funny seasonal questions and answers. What is a TAG? Well, basically it’s exactly that: the blogger writing it answers the topic’s questions, then tags other bloggers to do the same. Here are my answers to Georgina’s:

  • Which do you prefer: a real Christmas tree or a synthetic one? Well, I love the smell of a real fir, but this year I’m going to go with a 3D cardboard one from IKEA. Check this fun tree here.
  • You’re in a coffee shop, it’s December: what do you pick? Well, we don’t have Starbucks here in Italy, but if I had to choose amongst this year’s Christmas drinks I’d definitely go for the Gingerbread Latte “fresh latte with a couple of shots of gingerbread syrup, topped with whipped cream and nutmeg“. YUM. Fail that, I love this one here.
  • Which colour-scheme is your favourite for decorating the tree? I am very traditional when it comes to tree decorating colours: red and gold, with hand-made decorations.
  • Giving or receiving? The obvious answer would be receiving, because.. C’MON who doesn’t love receiving pressies? I’m not that hypocrital! But I have to admit, watching people’s expression when the open the gift you got them is priceless.
  • To mince pie or not? Definitely NOT. That would be my Italian side kicking up a fuss about it. I really can’t stand them Sorry! I blame chocolate…
  • What’s your traditional Christmas lunch? Prepare yourselves: Christmas “eating” in Italy starts on Christmas Eve, with a dinner called “Cenone della Vigilia”. Its dishes are different according to the county (North or South), and consist usually in 6 courses (starters, 2 different kinds of first course – pasta -, 2 different kinds of second course – usually fish – , cheese and mozzarella dishes, side dishes, fruit – usually pineapple, dates and other exotic fruit -, cakes). And that, people, is only the evening BEFORE Christmas Day! On the ACTUAL day we have: a starter of Christmas cardoon soup, usually after that there’s a selection of different pasta dishes that can be either cannelloni ripieni, or timballo or some other kind of freshly hand-made pasta with sauce; second course is meat, usually pork, with different vegetable side dishes, after that come the cheeses (mozzarella, pecorino, caciocavallo), some serve nuts with the latter.  After that there’s fruit and then different cakes. The two main Christmas cakes in Italy are the panettone and the pandoro. I LOVE PANDORO.
  • Christmas Day fashion: On Christmas all my family gets dressed up for photos and various outings. If we’re in Italy then we go and visit other relatives and friends. If we’re in England, we sometimes change at some point in the afternoon. I blame the food. Haha. No, but seriously, I’d love to JUST ONCE dress up as a Christmas Elf. I hope my plan works this year.
  • What’s your favourite Christmas song? OH MAN, so many! How can one choose? Can I choose two? One has to be Last Christmas by Wham and the other It’s the most wonderful time of the year. CLASSIC.
  • What’s your favourite Christmas film? HOME ALONE! Check my full list here for a snowy evening in.
  • Open presents before or after lunch? HELLO? CHRISTMAS MORNING! This is the drill: alarm clock off at 6.00AM, wake everyone up, drag sleepy family members to the living room, open Father Christmas’ presents (if been good), proceed to distribute presents to family members and take it turns to open one each.

EVERYONE IS TAGGED. If you have a blog, please link back to my blog so I can see what you answered! Thanks! If you don’t have a blog, please feel free to leave a comment below with your answers! Anyone noticed the snow on my blog? Oh yeah, snowed in ’til the 4th January.. bring it on, Christmas!

1476681_662169917156149_1126063377_n

4 thoughts on “CHRISTMAS TAG 2013

A penny for your thoughts:

